Using non-OU Pokémon in OU Teams

This is my first attempt at a serious post. English is not my first language, so I hope you will excuse little grammar mistakes here and there.

I have noticed that when most people decide to use a UU/NU Pokémon in their teams, it is not because that Pokémon performs the needed role better than any other candidate.

People normally use those Pokémon as gimmicks, to add an element of surprise to their teams. There are some people who use UU Pokémon because "it's cool", in situations where an OU Pokémon would fit much better in the team. I am not saying that using gimmicks is wrong, or detrimental to a team.

What I mean is that, when building a team, most people will look at the current OU tier as the only list of playable Pokémon. I think that is not the correct way of making a good team.

The OU tier is a list of the most USED Pokémon, not necessarily the best ones (though, in most cases, they are) which means that a good OU team should be able to beat teams composed of any OU Pokémon. The tier should be used as an indicator of what kind of Pokémon your OU team is going to face.

In some cases, a Pokémon is UU because the role it performs best is very situational. What if your team needs a Pokémon to fit exactly that role? Let me give some examples.

Gastrodon (NU)

A typical Curse Gastrodon will have 425 HP, 202 Attack, 174 Defense and 289 Special Defense.

A typical Curse Swampert will have 404 HP, 256 Attack, 256 Defense and 240 Special Defense.

However, what you don't see in those stats is that Gastrodon learns Recover, in addition to being immune to Trick due to its ability, Sticky Hold.

Which means that, in a team that gets many free turns, a Gastrodon will actually perform better than a Swampert. (I am only comparing the Curse sets of both Pokémon, I am NOT saying that Swampert is a worse Pokémon). Once Gastrodon gets a couple of Curses it can mantain them way better than Swampert.