The Mighty Arms of Atlas

*** The Mighty Arms of Atlas ***

Introduction

I've been playing competitive Pokemon since late 2007, and I've always considered myself an above average player, but nothing more. Part of that self-perception is that I struggle to build teams and am prone to making rash decisions in battle (like risking a key player needlessly) despite what I feel like is a good sense of the long term overall. I didn't play BW, but upon returning I feel like I've improved. The team building, on the other hand, is what I turn to you guys for.

I've built numerous teams for XY OU, but this one just feels different. Even when I play myself into holes, I get out of them. My team often gets out to an early advantage because it is both conventional and unconventional. For the first time, I feel confident that I will win every match. I recently achieved a ladder ranking of 26 (1879) under my alt, calvin benjamin, and got well into the 1800s and the top 50 with my other alt. I realize this isn't a big deal to some, but for me, that's the best I've ever done on any ladder by far, and I'm not ashamed to be proud of that!

Anyway, this team grew out of failed teams that nevertheless had some functional parts. I've grown very fond of Mega Gyarados, which is simply incredible, and I decided to pair him with Magic Guard Calm Mind Clefable to form a one-two punch against offense and stall, respectively. Then I added lures and other support Pokemon that themselves could serve as win conditions. I've found that making a team around one specific Pokemon ("the star of the team") never works for me and is detached from the fluid nature of battling, so I wanted my team to be flexible from battle to battle and from turn to turn.