VGC The Homecoming - A Return to VGC

"The Homecoming" by Arnold Böcklin

It's been nearly 5 years since I've played VGC properly (the last time being in the 2016 format!), so now that I've actually bought a Nintendo Switch, I felt that it was a good opportunity for me to jump into the new format! I'm new to Gen 8, as I've only just completed Shield, and am looking to build this team in-game, so I'd really appreciate some feedback if this team has any significant flaws which I'm not aware of!

The Team

After finishing Shield, I realised that I had two shinies from Pokemon Go which I could transfer to my game via Pokemon Home - Metagross and Salamence - who turn out to be quite a strong combo in the current format! The remainder of the team aims to synergise with the duo (via a dragon/fairy/steel core and a FWG core), and utilises a secondary dynamax in Galarian Moltres. I've gone with basic EV spreads here, so if anyone has any better ideas, please let me know!

In Depth

Metagross @ Weakness Policy
Ability: Clear Body
Level: 50
Shiny: Yes
EVs: 252 HP / 252 Atk / 4 Spe
Adamant Nature
- Iron Head
- Ice Punch
- Stomping Tantrum
- Protect

First half of the Hoenn Duo. Of my experience of 8th gen, I would say that Dynamax is a pretty balanced game mechanic. Restricted to powerful offensive moves only, with an increased HP stat to boot, of course there are obviously going to be Pokemon who function extraordinarily well under the conditions. Metagross is one of those Pokemon. With weakness policy attached, it offers great coverage with its steel/ice/ground moves.

Salamence @ Assault Vest
Ability: Intimidate
EVs: 4 HP / 252 SpA / 252 Spe
Timid Nature
- Draco Meteor
- Air Slash
- Flamethrower
- Bulldoze