Team Power Play

Hello, I'm Flashrider57, and this is my first RMT. I'm a bit new to 5th Gen, so after a hiatus from Pokemon, I decided to get back into competitive battling. I was pretty good at both OU and UU in 4th Gen (especially my favorite 4th Gen UU team, which was pretty beast...), so it took quite a while to get used to the new fifth gen. However, I was able to grasp the main ideas after using a couple teams, and I decided to make a truly competitive team, which I now present to you.

The team is based around SubPunch Conkeldurr, a Pokemon that ends up surprising a lot of people who haven't faced it before. It's supported offensively by a CM+Roar Latias, Banded Azumarill, and Scarfed Hydreigon, which has proven to be very useful. The team is held together by a defensive glue of Porygon2 and Celebi, who are able to check a surprising amount of OU Pokemon.

Team Building Process:

After a lot of testing, I decided to build my team around a set that I have been interested in but never got the chance to use: SubPunch Conkeldurr. It seemed interesting enough, and I hadn't seen many people use it, so I gave it a shot.

Next, I needed a Pokemon to support Conkeldurr, and it made sense to use a Calm Minder to complement Conkeldurr's physical dominance. Virizion worked well for me in the past, and it matches up well with Conkeldurr, so I included it on my team.

Hydreigon seemed an interesting choice for my team, seeing how it could kill faster opponents that caused problems for my other members, and its power would allow me to eliminate Lati@s and the other dragons, so I chose a Choice Scarf version to use on my team.

A defensive "glue" is essential for any offensive team, and mine's no different, so I looked for potential members. Porygon2 had caused me problems in the past, and its analysis said that it could take hits from multiple Pokemon. Deciding that it was a no-brainer, Porygon2 joined my ranks.