Sweepin' the Clouds Away

/
/
/
/
/

Ever since I started playing Pokemon, one has always been my favorite. Venusaur was my choice of a started, and dominated the Elite Four for me. When I started playing competitive Pokemon after Platinum came out, I played 4th Gen UU because I could use him. Now I am more serious about battling, but I wanted to use Venusaur again. This team is quite old, but I have been using it recently to great success, hitting 1905 and 16th on the ladder.

Teambuilding Process

Venusaur was the first member of the team, so I needed to make a team that synergized with him. Since the only real reason to use Venusaur is chlorophyll, the next choice was obvious. Ninetales is the only drought Pokemon in OU, and while not as strong as Tyranitar or Politoed, is a good choice for the team. Ninetales still hits hard though, and is pretty specially bulky.Because I have sun up, a Fire type is logical. Heatran has great resistances, and checks both Dragons and opposing sun teams. A ridiculously powerful Fire Blast, Flash Fire, and Stealth Rocks make for a good choice.
I also needed a way to check sand. Tyranitar is my obvious nemesis, so I decided to use Terrakion. Terrakion is incredibly powerful, and can snap most walls in half. Being able to 2hko most of the tier is a massive asset.
I was still having problems with Tyranitar, and I also needed some stronger revenge killing than Quick Attack. So, I decided to use Scizor. Scizor also helps to deal with Lati@s, which my team has trouble with.I tried several Pokemon in the last spot, mostly sun abusers. However, my team was too reliant on keeping sun up. I needed a way to win the game without sun up. Enter Dragonite. Dragonite can set up on almost anything, and sweep easily.

Ninetales (M) @ Leftovers
Trait: Drought
EVs: 136 HP / 252 SAtk / 120 Spd
Modest Nature
- Will-O-Wisp
- Fire Blast
- SolarBeam
- Sunny Day