Professor as a Career

Danmire

its okay.
is an Artist Alumnus
This is my first year in college, and my favorite class is History of Architecture. I've been taking many art classes, but this is my first one with a professor. Through my years in art classes and High school(one more to go, because I am doing Dual Enrollment), teaching has been on the tip of my tongue. Specifically, teaching art. My current Architecture professor teaches very well, and he's also super informal.

I know not all professors are like this(my English one isn't all that nice, but it's college, so whatever, I'm not really complaining), but it's something about teaching that specific area that keeps bringing me back to the thought of "Should I be a Professor?".

I'm not going to stop my pursue in the field of art, but that doesn't mean I can't be a professor on the subject. So my question is, for those who are thinking about careers as professor or being just a regular school teacher, what type of area are you wanting to teach? What made you take that step into wanting to be a professor or school teacher?

Matthew

I love weather; Sun for days
is a Site Content Manager Alumnusis a Forum Moderator Alumnusis a Tiering Contributor Alumnusis a Contributor Alumnusis a Battle Simulator Moderator Alumnus
As much as I would love becoming a doctor, and my grades (so far) are good enough; I can't stop thinking about teaching English at the college or high school level.

It's a huge step down when I think about it but honestly I really would enjoy doing it. Though then I'm going down the Stellar path and I really don't want to steal a job away from him because they'll like me more.

:)

v

protected by a silver spoon
is a Site Content Manager Alumnusis a Senior Staff Member Alumnusis a CAP Contributor Alumnusis a Tiering Contributor Alumnus
they won't let you teach english if you use semicolons like that