SM OU Mega Ampharos Team [New Player]

Hey all!

I'm brand new to competitive battling, so apologies if this team has some really glaring weaknesses or flaws. I've basically thrown this together quickly based on my understanding of the game, though of course this is pretty limited haha. Also, sorry if my explanations don't make sense or I just say stuff that's flat out wrong. Anyway, here goes nothing;

1569243803005.png

Ampharos-Mega @ Ampharosite
Ability: Mold Breaker
EVs: 4 HP / 252 SpA / 252 SpD
Modest Nature
- Thunder
- Dragon Pulse
- Volt Switch
- Hidden Power Fire​

Mega Ampharos is good due to its crazy SpA stat, which combined with the rain from Pelipper, allows it monstrous damage from Thunder. It's Hidden Power Fire gives it coverage against Ice Types which might otherwise cause it trouble. I opted for Volt Tackle over Iron Tail, and although it is weak to Fairy, Volt Tackle gives Mega Ampharos a good escape route. It is on the slower side however, so I specced SpD to improve Mega Ampharos’ chances of surviving a big hit from fairy types such as Diance, Magearna, and Tapu Lele. Finally, Dragon Pulse is a good move for when rain stops or against ground types. Overall, Mega Ampharos’ weaknesses are mainly Fairy and Ground types, which comes around due to it’s painful speed. However, a SpA stat of almost 500 is good enough to justify it for me, especially with the 110 power Thunder.

1569243923184.png

Pelipper @ Damp Rock
Ability: Drizzle
EVs: 252 HP / 252 Def
Bold Nature
- Defog
- Hurricane
- Ice Beam
- Roost​