Highlord's DPP Ubers Emporium

Approved by Aberforth

I've been meaning to drop some teams and metagame thoughts for a while now, but the opportunity never presented itself until now with SV starting to gain my attention along with an increasing inability to spend hours prepping for tours now that real life is doing what real life does best. While these teams have all had varying degrees of success, I selected these specifically because they're most memorable to me.

Click on the sprites to get a pokepaste link

Old DPP: 2016 - 2021

Real old DPP is even earlier of course, but I figured it's only worth discussing what I'm familiar with. I started playing DPP Ubers tours in early 2016 with the Weekend Tour, but I didn't play a major tour until UPL VI with the Luminous Lunalas in 2018 and once again in 2019 as a retain. The blueprint for my and many others' DPP Ubers teams was Iris, whose influence is still visible today if you look close enough. In 2020, I took a "break" and skipped UPL VIII, which coincidentally happened to be the year where Arceus was released back into the tier after its initial exclusion due to obsolete simulator limitations more than a decade ago. In 2021, I played in UPL IX as a Dangerous Dracovish, which the last major tour where we saw people use old era teams. Most of the teams in this section are outdated, but I included them anyway to show how the metagame has involved since then.

Gliscor Deo-A Sub Pass
:dp/Tyranitar::dp/Gliscor::dp/groudon::dp/bronzong::dp/palkia::dp/deoxys-attack:

Back in 2016, I thought Gliscor Pass was the coolest thing ever after I saw Iris' Gliscor Pass team run through some room tours. I was also hooked on SpDef Groudon at the time because of how well it tanked hits from the big scary dragons in the tier. The original import is long lost, but I did my best to recreate it since it's the oldest tournament team that I can remember, and it took game off of Pohjis in the Weekend Tour playoffs.