Announcement Goodbyes suck

Specs

Getting in your own way
is a Community Leader Alumnusis a Community Contributor Alumnusis a Top Tiering Contributor Alumnusis a Battle Simulator Staff Alumnus
UUPL Champion
It has taken a lot to do this but I'll be stepping down as Leader. It's a really shitty feeling but am excited for my future in life (whatever that may be)

I started playing competitive around 12-13 (was one of those AV Regice users iykyk) and a couple years later started to get involved in communities. I found my home in PU after probably annoying the chat a bunch and finding some friends to chat with in PM's each day. This place is really special, and wanted to try to make sure other people felt the same magic I did too. I really hope I've made even close to as much of an impact on peoples time here as they have made on mine. PU and Smogon as a whole has affected me a lot as a person. I wouldn't trade what being around different people from all around the world has taught me for anything, it has truly made me a better person at such an important time in my life

Unfortunately I'm at a crossroads in my life. While my time on here has been amazing, I've done a poor job at balancing that with IRL stuff and it's been at the center of my mind for awhile now. There is a lot going on that I'd not like to discuss publicly but point is, I need to put myself first and that really is not an easy thing for me to do. I'm worried me staying might lead to things down the road that I wouldn't be able to recover from. It's my own doing so don't take it as "Smogon sucks". I would like to make sure people don't make this same mistake though, so please make sure to take care of yourself wrt things outside of this great space!

I've had the honour of making life long friends through my time here! They're the reason I've stayed for so long, and part of the reason I'm making this decision. I want to be the best version of myself for me and them