Double Sand (First RMT)(Also first team)

Srn

Water (Spirytus - 96%)
is an official Team Rateris a Forum Moderatoris a Community Contributoris a Top Tiering Contributor
OUPL Champion
Hi guys! I'm fairly new to the whole competitive scene, and I'm not anything special right now, but I do know what pokemon does what stuff and all that, and I sorta know what I'm doing, so don't brush me off just yet.
This is a balanced sand team, and my teams always tend to be balanced or defensive in the end. I don't know why, but that's just how my brain works.
Oh and btw, this my first post to smogon forums too :p
Inspiration
Another way my brain works is when I enter a new tier, I usually try to find a nice team I like on these forums and try and introduce myself to the respective metagame with it. I did that with OU with a rain team and I noticed:
"Gee, losing the weather war sucks."
So I looked at weather inducers and noticed
"Hey there are two Sand inducers in the OU tier! Why not try and make a team that works both!"
And that's basically how I made my first team

Teambuilding

So obviously I started with the two sand inducers. Standard defensive hippo and a nice banded ttar to hit like a truck. These guys share a buttload of weaknesses, so why not slap a gastrodon on there? I heard its pretty decent on sand teams! It has a water immunity too!

From there, I knew having a spinner was in general nice, so why not stuff in a foretress too? It's a pivot with volt switch and can set up hazards, so why not, it resists grass 4x too.

My team sorta lacked a solid form of offense, so I scrolled through for sand sweepers that actually benefited outside of the passive damage and I came upon the beast known as:
LANDORUS. This monster with life orb, sand force, and rock polish was a force to be reckoned with.