Competitive Pokemon on Facebook.

Status
Not open for further replies.

Lord Wallace

Hentai Connoiseur
is a Tiering Contributor Alumnus
Lately I've really been wanting to contribute to Smogon in any way possible and I have a great idea for an article that I would happily write.
First a little background about me because it's somewhat relevant to the topic.
I've been battling competitively with Smogon for about 3 years now and have become a top of the ladder player since late last generation and continue to nest comfortably in the top 100 on the ladder. But on the forums I've been mostly a lurker until very recently.
About, I'd say just 5 months ago, I discovered the plethora of Pokemon X/Y Facebook groups that had been exploding with popularity at the time due to the mass influx of players new to the competitive scene as of the release of X/Y. As I began to tread around these groups I learned a couple relevant things about them:

1. The vast majority of the members had already self educated themselves on Natures, EVs, IVs, and other such mechanics essential to getting into competitive, despite many of them being brand new to Pokemon at all or some had returned as adults after only playing the first couple generations in their childhoods.
That doesn't seem like a big deal to us here at Smogon University, but it kind of is. Think about a couple generations ago. The vast majority of the Pokemon fanbase were completely oblivious to all the hidden mechanics in competitive play and even some who were aware simply didn't care.