SS OU The Poison Jungle (Nidoking + Grass Spam)

Favorite Terrain?

• Grassy Terrain

Votes: 10 37.0%
  • Misty Terrain

Votes: 3 11.1%
  • Psychic Terrain

Votes: 3 11.1%
  • Electric Terrain

Votes: 4 14.8%
  • smh who uses terrain

Votes: 7 25.9%

• Total voters

PikaSpark

sad emoji
is a Tiering Contributor
Introduction
Hello! This is my first time here at the forums, and I am here to seek advice, criticism etc on my first attempt at a Gen 8 OU Team. It probably has a lot of flaws I haven't encountered yet :'( This is not a high elo team, just around 1500 give or take.
Anyways, I have only been playing this format for about 2 months, and I have been only playing with Sample Teams so far, climbing to 1400 or so on the ladder. But recently, I finally decided to try and build my own team. Thank you in advance, I hope this was detailed enough to let you know what I was thinking as I built this team. :psyglad:

I give to you the Poison Jungle, named in honor of the Nidoking + Rillaboom

https://pokepast.es/62b4546b42ee02b6 here's ur paste :)

:ss/nidoking::ss/Rillaboom::ss/kartana: :ss/zapdos: :ss/heatran: :ss/keldeo-resolute:

:nidoking:
I wanted to start off with Nidoking, a great wallbreaker in my opinion :)

:nidoking: :rillaboom:

This slot was actually very random, but it worked out. I just thought of what Nidoking was weak to, and Ground type attacks popped up first in my mind. Because usually the ground moves in this format is Earthquake, I wanted to add a grassy surge mon. A priority Grassy Glide is also amazing.

:nidoking: :rillaboom: :kartana:
I decided to twist this team into some sort of Grass Spam to make good use of my Grassy Terrain, so I slapped on a Kartana.

:nidoking: :rillaboom: :kartana: :zapdos:
One of the most effective counters to Grass Spam is Tornadus-T. Zapdos could help deal with it, as well as potentially cripple it with Static when it attempts a U-turn. The reliable recovery in Roost also felt very nice. Defog also helps :)