Team Report The King's Cats: A Smogon VGC Major Top Cut Report

Mr.GX

Mew Mew
is a Tiering Contributor
Introduction

Hello, everyone. I’m Mohamed Nihal, more commonly known as Mr.GX online. I started playing competitive Pokemon in 2015 after watching the infamous Worlds 2014 finals, and have been a regular in the VGC scene since. Due to a lack of events in my region, I rely on online tournaments to play VGC competitively.

Recently, I managed to Top Cut the Smogon VGC Major, which had 615 players checked in, with a record of 8-2. Without further ado, let’s move onto the team building process

Team Accomplishments

Teambuilding

The teambuilding process was a long one, essentially. The meta went through numerous changes from S7 to S9. We had a surge in offensive strategies like Life Orb Regieleki and Urshifu-Rapid Strike, Support Spectrier, and Prankster Thundurus. But before we move onto the final version, I would like to explain the process, and the different iterations of the team.

As many of you might already know, I am an avid Suicune lover and I wanted to have it used on the team. With this, one of the many challenges I face when team building is finding out how I can make Suicune work well. Suicune is my favorite Pokemon in the series, and it has a niche role in providing a unique set of support options. The original iteration of the team had Screens Regieleki with Focus Sash and Weakness Policy Regirock, which was effective against the Glastrier balance teams and the NUT core in S7.

:moltres-galar: :regirock: :Amoonguss: :Regieleki: :Suicune: :Incineroar:

However, as Series 9 rolled out, we saw a massive meta shift towards more offensive options and I realized that my team was too passive, capitalizing on safer plays and breaking through their defenses. Oftentimes, I found my defenses being broken apart by Pokemon such as Regieleki and Life Orb Landorus-T. Hence, it was necessary for the team to undergo a change to better match against the current meta.