VGC Swordfish Double Genies‍

Hey y’all. This is the first team I’ve built for the current VGC format and I’ve made it to abt 1400 with it. I’m still pretty new to VGC in general but so far I’ve gotten decent results with the team.

no zacian art :(

Zacian-Crowned @ Rusted Sword
Ability: Intrepid Sword
Level: 50
EVs: 252 Atk / 4 SpD / 252 Spe
Jolly Nature
- Behemoth Blade
- Play Rough
- Sacred Sword
- Protect

When to bring: almost always
Lead: sometimes
Dmax: lmao

Big dog with big sword do big damage. I chose to run max speed and attack to try and outpace other Zacian, especially the bulky variant on Rinya sun. Not much else to say, zac is pretty straight forward. He can lead, stay in the back, file you taxes, raise your kids, and die to precipice blades, so be careful.

Kyogre @ Mystic Water
Ability: Drizzle
EVs: 188 HP / 68 SpA / 252 Spe
Timid Nature
IVs: 0 Atk
- Water Spout
- Origin Pulse
- Ice Beam
- Protect

When to bring: every game
Dmax: sometimes

The second half of the swordfish core, I chose a fast, somewhat bulky Kyogre so that it outspeeds bulky Groudon. Sure it will set up weather first and Groudon can take it back, but why the heck are you leading Kyogre into Groudon? Other than that, Kyogre is pretty much the only Pokémon you’re gonna be bringing to every game, except under some very, very specific circumstances

Incineroar @ Shuca Berry
Ability: Intimidate
EVs: 252 HP / 84 Def / 140 SpD / 32 Spe
Careful Nature
- Fake Out
- Parting Shot
- Flare Blitz
- Darkest Lariat

When to bring: usually
Lead: usually (as in, don’t bring it in the back if you bring it)
Dmax: rarely

The standard, Groudon checking kitty is here! Shuca berry so it isn’t sat on by Groudon, fairly standard ev spread and moveset. You typically won’t be dynamaxing incin, but there are definitely curcumstances I kind of see incineroar as kind of a physical-denying support as compared to the next Pokémon…

Thundurus (M) @ Sitrus Berry
Ability: Prankster