grubbing in the ashes
Are you sure it was a TD decision and not a host decision? I know there's some overlap but it might not be fair to blame the whole TD team for the incorrect initial decision + failed implementation of the (incorrect) recreate. Not sure how the current team handles things, but at least previously this kind of thing often went to the hosts first, unless the hosts actively referred it to the full TD team.You're generating more confusion. The decision for the recreate WAS reached and the TD's were to IMPLEMENT the teams and the game was going to be done and it would've counted. Any argumentation for rogue hosting falls flat when it's a TD that's hosting.
Anyhow I don't particularly care about the Santu/sagiri outcome, but as one of the people who helped write the current timer rules, a timeout as happened should always result in a loss, not a recreate. That's been the case since Zarel rebuilt the timer and instituted the separate DC timer and the recreate system years ago. Obviously the current TDs can change those rules up (and probably should if there are problems with that years-old ruling), but as far as I know that has never happened. They do have the ability to make exceptions in situations that weren't accounted for in the existing rules, but generally that is something that should happen with the whole TD team, not just the hosts, due to the precedents it can create... hence my question of whether this was a host decision or a TD decision.