Resource [Series 8/11] Sword/Shield BSS Viability Rankings

I am one of the people who messaged 1TP and suggested a Lapras drop a week or two ago. I wanted to wait until Nouthuca confirmed my opinions before posting here. I generally dislike doing this, but I like to back up my opinions with cold hard evidence so they are taken seriously. I am not always correct, I knew P2, a Pokemon I didn't really have a strong opinion on, was being used as a Calyrex-Shadow check in high ladder but still thought P2 was quite a bit worse than it ended up being. Its ability to do this whilst having a differing matchup spread from Tyranitar allows it to function well on teams now I have had a bit more time playing with it. I generally used Tyranitar or Urshifu, even Moltres-G in this sort of role so didn't really have much experience with P2 in the format. That being said I have a lot of experience playing with Lapras and it was a Pokemon I have a strong opinion on.

Before and during BSSLT, I had been doing a bit of casual laddering with a Zacian-Lapras team (around 100 games) and found that Lapras actually wasn't that useful in the majority of matchups. I ended up shuffling around that team and replacing Lapras, trying Swampert and ending up with Seismitoad.

So what sets Lapras apart from the other Pokemon in Top Tier, I believe there are three factors:

1. Lapras is not a major consideration for every major Restricted Core in Teambuilding
2. Lapras comes with an opportunity cost of being unable to Dynamax Zapdos (and to lesser degree Landorus-T or Cinderace) in Zacian-C cores when it is brought
3. Lapras is linear, a weak relatively weak Dynamaxer asides from G-Max Resonance and faces significant competition in its niches