Sandstorm 'Chomp Abuse

Sunday

God Bless Nintys Incompetence :*)
is a Forum Moderator Alumnusis a CAP Contributor Alumnus
At a glance:

So, after recently getting back into Pokemon this is my first attempt at a gen 5 team. My first instincts was to attempt to abuse Garchomp in the same way I did in 4th gen, building a team around it designed to either soften up anything which would check it or bait it out and revenge kill it, then set up the sweep.

Because of how new 5th gen is in general, I have strived to include Pokemon which I could use to check a large number of threats and some which can be used as general, all purpose switch ins that I'm not afraid to lose (especially if it gets a sweeper in safely).

~*The Lead*~

TyraniRAWR (Tyranitar) (F) @ Leftovers Trait: Sand Stream
EVs: 252 HP / 252 Atk / 4 Spd
Adamant Nature (+Atk, -SAtk)
- Stealth Rock
- Taunt
- Crunch
- Earthquake

Because the team is centred around Garchomp I feel as if I'm starting in the middle when I begin by talking about the lead. Tyranitar has 3 main objectives.

1) Set up sand.

Tyranitar underspeeds the other weather leads, Ninetales and Politoed, giving me the initial weather advantage and forcing my opponents to need to preserve their lead if they want their weather in play. This gives me the flexibility to either sacrifice my Tyranitar to get rocks up, or predict a Focus Blast/Energy Ball/Whatever and trap them in with Shandera, cutting off their weather inducer and essentially putting their team onto life support.

2) Soften up Pokemon that could be used to check Garchomp.

Coming off 403 attack Stab Crunch and EQ deal a lot of damage. At this stage of the game I'm just aiming to begin wearing down the opponents team to set up for the sweep, so I'm not overly bothered if I'm forced to switch out after one attack.