Project Player Of The Week Revived: Week 8 - Many

TJ

Banned deucer.
is the Smogon Tour Season 34 Championis a Past SPL Championis a Two-Time Past SCL Champion

Many
Favorite Pokemon: Whiscash
Most used Pokemon: Mesprit
Most known for: PU Room Voice and PUPL Manager
TJ: Hey Many, how are you doing today?
Many: I'm doing just okay, thanks

TJ: Can you tell us a little about yourself outside of Smogon?
Many: I'm a 21 year-old college student from Maryland studying Environmental Science. Outside of pokemon, I like to play tennis, hang out with friends, and do some creative stuff like making music / writing stories.

TJ: How and when did you get into competitive Pokemon? What drew you to PU?
Many: After I finished playing Diamond and Black/White I became interested in competitive pokemon. I did some Wi-fi battles, got bored of it and sort of forgot about pokemon for a while. Then around late 2013 I searched for "pokemon battle simulators" on a whim and discovered Showdown. At first I played almost exclusively ladder battles. The first community I really participated in was the UU chat room but it was hard to really feel included in such a large community. In about mid 2014 there was some promotions for the new PU ladder on Showdown so I tried it out. I loved the fresh and innovative metagame, and the small community was really welcoming. So I've stuck around ever since.

TJ: What made you select your current username?
Many: "A man of many" was one of the nicknames for a character in a story my friend wrote. I went by TheManOfMany23, then ManOfMany, and I eventually shortened it to just Many.

TJ: We recently banned Lilligant. Do you think it was the right decision?
Many: I don't have a strong opinion on it. I think Lilligant was broken at various times in the SM meta, but it was probably the most manageable it has ever been at this moment. Still, it will be a relief for people to teambuild without having to worry about it.

TJ: What's your favorite playstyle and why?