Player of the Week 32: ZoroarkForever

GOAO

Banned deucer.

Favorite Pokémon: Darkrai
Most used LC Pokémon: Cottonee
Most known for: 34k on LCPL, currently 3-1 in SPL and awesome builder.
Tell us a little about yourself.

I'm a college student studying chemical engineering and originally from everybody's favorite state, New Jersey! Outside of schoolwork, I spend a lot of time watching movies, listening to music, and playing soccer. Other than that, I guess I'm a pretty normal guy doing normal guy things.

How and when did you get your start in LC? Do you remember your first team?

I started playing LC way back in the early days of Pokemon Showdown. At the time, they held ladder challenges in different tiers and if you met the requirements, you would get global voice. I missed the weeks for all the tiers but LC, which was the last tier on the list. I picked up the metagame in order to get voice and, lo and behold, actually enjoyed playing it. For the rest of BW2, I was an LC ladder hero, competing with Kingmidas / Axisotaku for the top spot. I got a lot better at pokemon in general by doing this.

My first team was Evio Mienfoo / Curse+RestTalk Lickitung / Evio Larvesta / Sash Abra / Scarf Cyndaquil / RestTalk Duskull. In hindsight, it was really bad, but it served its purpose of getting me into the meta.

What is your favorite aspect of LC?

At the moment, I really like the diversity within the metagame. There are so many viable pokemon and different team structures. You can build around anything, even C-D ranked mons, and still have a team that can win vs most playstyles (see Mambo for lessons).

As for the tier itself, I like that items add another layer of depth that can't be found in higher tiers. Keeping certain mons from being knocked off takes a lot of strategy and skill. Item choice completely changes how certain pokemon play during a match (Evio RestTalk Chinchou vs BJ Chou vs Scarf Chou). It's something truly unique.