Resource Get Good

zee

is a Site Content Manageris a Top Social Media Contributoris a Forum Moderatoris a Top Tiering Contributoris a Top Contributoris a Senior Staff Member Alumnusis a Community Contributor Alumnusis a Smogon Media Contributor Alumnusis a defending SCL Champion
Hi. I'm Zee Costagliola, and I've been playing VGC for over a decade, since I was 11 years old. I have top cut a regional ever year since 2018, have day 2'd numerous tournaments in the past 12 months, and am a multi-time World Championships qualifier. I'm going to be writing multiple of these long winded forum posts with advice on a specific topic for people on this website interested in getting into VGC for themselves.

The topic of this thread will be improvement.

Players getting into VGC, especially around the Smogon community, come from all backgrounds and skill levels: SPL starters, DOU ladder heroes, or just people looking for a competitive hub. My hope is that this rant will be useful for everyone. Let's get into it.

It's day 1 of deciding you want to start playing VGC (while there is both a gameplay component and a circuit component, this article will focus strictly on gameplay). My biggest piece of advice to you, more than anything else, is to take a successful team and hit up the ladder on PS or in Scarlet/Violet or join a Limitless tournament that works for your schedule.

You can find successful teams from a lot of different places. Limitless, the tournament platform that I just linked, displays the Open Team Sheet for all entrants, like this:

1704247620371.png