Implemented ending the alting rule debate

Status
Not open for further replies.
whether you agree with it or not, the ongoing never-ending discussion about the new alting rule is stupid. instead i'm suggesting we use our great coders, technology and resources, to create something everyone is happy with.

(ideally this appears when you hover over the name)

i'm not a coder but a command like /aka shouldn't be too hard to implement? this might have a few flaws still but other than technical difficulities i see no reason against it. can be a smogtours exclusive command but i could also see it being useful during OLT or other PS related things.

Annika

is a Battle Simulator Administratoris a Community Leaderis a Programmer
PS Admin
Showdown's alt detection technology doesn't establish a 1:1 correspondence between accounts. Detected alts are not guaranteed to be the same user; the alt-detection system provides human moderators with information which they can use to make an informed decision on whether the users are the same. It would be misleading to declare that two users are *definitely* alts; the system is continually being refined to account for situations like shared IP addresses. Additionally, one user can easily use more than two accounts at once, cluttering up the "aka" hoverbox (users on Main have already done similar things to flood the screens of moderators using alt-checking tools).

This is also a privacy issue: users should be able to preserve their anonymity without having their alt accounts (or users at the same school/university/workplace/library) publicized. These privacy concerns are one of many reasons why alt-checking tools are restricted to users with a clear need for this information—Showdown's staff.

What is the discussion with the "new alting rule"? Maybe I can think of some other, more feasible technical solution. I'm happy to solve problems with code, but publicly displaying a user's alts seems neither feasible nor desirable.

avarice