Approved Defensive Value of Mega Evolutions in OU

Status
Not open for further replies.

Unlucky Desperado

Banned deucer.
Introduction
Hi, this is my first time writing an aritcle or trying to contribute to Smogon. I lurked here for around 3 months before making my account and frequented the ladder.
I have some good (I hope) posts I made in the viability rankings and one in RMT:
http://www.smogon.com/forums/thread...ost-1054-page-43.3536420/page-45#post-6260440
http://www.smogon.com/forums/threads/fairy-on-the-devils-shoulder.3538179/#post-6217728
http://www.smogon.com/forums/thread...ost-1054-page-43.3536420/page-42#post-6256616

So here is what I plan to write about:
Summary
Mega Evolutions where a new mechanic introduced in Gen 6. They received stat boosts that made them better all around. Although most pokemon became more popular due to their offensive improvements, many megas gained increased defensive value and capabilities. Mega Slowbro, Mega Venusaur and Mega Scizor are both pokemon who not only improved in offensive categories but also in their defensive versatility and value. Additionally, megas like Latios, Charizard X and Altaria, more known for their offensive roles, can take on effective defensive sets. This relates to the OU metagame and it aims to highlight the lesser noticed defensive possibilities in mega evolutions.

Outline

I. Introduction
A. Mega Evolutions
1. Mega Evolution introduction
2. Making pokemon better and more significant​
B. Defensive Megas like Slowbro, Venusaur, Scizor
C. Offensive Megas with defensive value like Latios, Charizard X, and Altaria​
II. Defensive Megas
A. Mega Venusaur
1. Role in BW more offensive on sun teams
2. Gained boosts in Attack, Defense, Special Attack, Special Defense
3. Amazing ability in Thick Fat
4. Defensive typing in resisting Water, Fairy types.
5. Flaws in weakness to Flying, Psychic, low Synthesis PP​
B. Mega Slowbro
1. Gained boosts in Defense and Special Attack