Done Clause warning for moves

Status
Not open for further replies.
(mainly for sleep clause)
i propose that an warning be added to moves that might activate a clause, mainly for new players who may not have been paying attention or don't even know what clauses are. originally I thought that the move should be un-useable but that was scrapped quickly.

crappy image displaying what it might look like.
suggestion image.png

(im not good at making these)

adding to this i suggest that an explanation of the sleep clause appear in the pop up that appears when you hover over the move (somthing like 2 pokemon on the opponents team cannot be asleep at the same time, excluding rest). as well as this perhaps the opponents pokemon (could just use the menu sprite)

Isaiah

Here today, gone tomorrow
is a Site Content Manageris an official Team Rateris a Battle Simulator Administratoris a Top Social Media Contributoris a Member of Senior Staffis a Community Contributoris a Top Tiering Contributoris a Top Contributor
UM/OM Leader
Actually, players already get an explanation of relevant clauses at the beginning of any given battle:
1666915039318.png

In AAA it's Sleep Moves Clause, but in most other metas it would be "Sleep Clause Mod" with an explanation of how it works.

I can't speak on adding a warning to moves in terms of actually coding it in, but I will note that if we're talking about newer players as is, moves already have loads of information written in their hover text and "MAY ACTIVATE SLEEP CLAUSE" won't actually mean anything to someone who doesn't even know what that is yet (and might even deter them from clicking their moves out of fear). In practice, trying to put multiple Pokemon to sleep and then getting the activation message that explains it is a pretty effective, although admittedly more punishing way to learn.