Team Report Beat Up Gaming- Top 8 Rose Tower Clash 1

Hi, I'm Aapo, also known as AaPokemon793 on Pokemon Showdown. About a month ago, I got top 8 in the Rose Tower Clash 1 which was my first top cut in a major event. Doing this report now because the last few weeks I've been busy with school so I didn't have time to write this. I've played different competitive formats for about 5 years now, but I got into VGC like 1 1/2 years ago. I played VGC casually in 2017, but I used the same team for the entire season and didn't really try to get high ranks or participate in tournaments. I was more of a Battle Spot Singles player at the time. I didn't play much at all in 18 and 19. I started playing VGC again when SWSH came out and grinded the ladder until in Series 7 I started playing in tournaments.

Team concept

So basically I decided to build around the Terrakion Dragapult core. The idea behind that is well-known and simple: Dragapult activates Terrakion's ability "Justified" with Beat Up giving it +4 attack in 1 turn. Alternatively, Dragapult can Dynamax and drop opponent's defense with Max Phantasm, allowing Terrakion to finish off weakened targets. I liked this core because it beat many of the Glastrier Porygon2 cores that had been dominating late Series 7 and early S9 and was also good against Galarian Moltres and some other meta cores. Most people using this core were using it with a sun mode that had VenuKoal. These teams are very hyper offensive with their defensive options being Porygon2 for the most part. So the idea behind my team is to build a TerraPult team that has these defensive options to give the team more balance. Bulky offense is probably my favourite playstyle and I think I was able to achieve that here.

The team:

Beat Up gaming V2 - Top 8 Rose Tower Clash 1 (pokepast.es)

:Dragapult:

Dragapult @ Life Orb
Ability: Clear Body
Level: 50
EVs: 252 Atk / 4 SpD / 252 Spe
Jolly Nature
- Dragon Darts
- Phantom Force
- Fly
- Beat Up