Discussion Alternative Suspect Reqs

cityscapes

Take care of yourself.
is a Tiering Contributoris a Community Contributor Alumnus
(im not very good at writing these, sorry if this is boring to read through)

Suspect tests are an integral part of Smogon, and represent the influence of competent players on tiering. Suspect reqs are meant to weed out the people with insufficient knowledge of the metagame to leave only an informed pool of voters. The system of making players start with a fresh alt is pretty effective at this job, but it comes with some flaws that I want to fix with this new proposal.

Getting reqs is, for lack of a better word, a slog. Even with a relatively fast team, it can still take two hours to get out of low ladder, and another hour or so of mid ladder is required before the reqs are finished, assuming you didn't get lucked too many times. Combine this with the value placed on consistency over experimentation by the GXE system and the near complete lack of actually good players, and you have a grind that no one wants to sit through.

My proposal is to allow people to use existing alts with a separate requirement, most likely a higher Glicko-1 rating with a limit on how high your RD can be. Here's a quick overview of these terms:

• Glicko-1 rating functions similar to the Elo system. It goes up when you win and down when you lose, according to your opponent's score. If your Glicko-1 rating is much lower than your opponent's, your score will increase more if you win and decrease less if you lose, and vice versa. Basically, the same intuitive Elo mechanics that we're all used to.