Gen 2 A Case For A GSC Anything Goes Ladder

3rU-_H2fY_aafUx1Y6HmCuev5gpnUNICpSeAgr3pKWc.jpg

Hi, I just joined these forums today but I've had a lot of experience laddering on showdown. Anyways, at some point in the near future I'd like to see a GSC Anything Goes RoA Spotlight ladder. This may seem like a random suggestion, especially since generation 2 only has 5 Ubers Pokémon, but there's a predominant reason why GSC in particular should absolutely have an AG ladder. That reason is simply the fact that in the cartridge games, generation 2 is the only generation where AG is the one and only 'official' battle format. In generation I, aside from the Cable Club (RBY AG), there are 3 extra in-game battle formats available in Pokémon Yellow, those being Pika Cup, Petit Cup, and Poké Cup. In generation 3 onwards, doubles battles exist, as well as numerous other formats such as VGC in later gens. Other than GSC AG being the only in-game battle format, I also think it'd be a pretty fun metagame to play. I've already constructed quite a few teams and it'd be awesome to test them out against a ladder in rated battles. Anything Goes also tends to be a very popular metagame, being consistently one of the top 3 or 4 most played formats (in gen 7, for instance, AG was always the most active ladder besides OU, VGC, and Random Battle). Given that we've already seen AG ladders for gens 4-8 anyway, I say it's time to give gen 2 some love in that department as well. Let me know if you guys are interested in trying your hands out on this never before featured metagame on showdown! Also, this is a random joke but I'm sure that the guy who used to ladder with 6 Snorlax in gen 7 AG would love to see the amplified power of his 'PIG GOD' squad.

*Note: when talking about in-game battle formats I left out Stadium 1 & 2 since they're technically not core series games