Team Report 2nd Place at Anaheim Regs 2018 Warstory (VGC 2019 Moon Series)

DeagleBeagle

Banned deucer.
Hey everyone, this is Ryan Schambers (DeagleBeagle). I have been battling competitively since 2010, really 2009 but the lottery system screwed me out of playing. Actually even before then I was competing, but it was in OU or one of the other tiers and starting with RSE even though I played RBY and etc as a kid. I was very successful my first year of playing, topcutting in regionals, nationals, and worlds. I have often bubbled out of topcut and haven’t had as much practice time since, or gotten unlucky/emotional and didn’t as much as needed to topcut tournaments.

I feel this generation is similar to 2010 and 2016 in the respect that it involves restricted mons. I believe I tend to do better in this type of format since it involves more power and speed control which is my playstyle. With that said I believe my team was very good, but I knew coming into the format that Groudon Yveltal would be the hardest matchup I could face.

Let me start by listing each person I played before Topcut and what they were using and how I reacted to it. I believe I was good at adjusting to their team and my team was very carefully built to be able to do this. I wanted multiple options for speed control and leading as well as mons in back to support.

Round 1: Vishy Vosudevan (FlyingFalcons7)

He had Kartana Palkia Whim Salazzle Ogre Lele

I was caught off guard by Scarf Kart and almost lost this. I took notes and noticed the Palkia was not Specs and wasn’t sure if it had Trick Room. I won the first match and he lead Kartana Palkia. Game 2 He lead Salazzle Whimiscott and the Protect Salazzle caught me off guard. His Whim also avoided my E-Web vs. its sash and those two turns cost me the match. G3 I don’t remember his lead but he brought Whim Lele Kart Ogre. I believe I set up Trick Room and was able to sweep his team with Kyogre.

Round 2: Joseph Baria