Tournament 2020 AG Tournament Circuit

Not open for further replies.


pidge pidge
is a Tiering Contributoris a Forum Moderator Alumnusis a Battle Simulator Staff Alumnus

Art by Kaiju Bunny

2020 Anything Goes Tournament Circuit
>>Current Standings<<

Welcome to the first ever official Anything Goes Tournament Circuit! Players will participate in several tournaments throughout the year to fight for a spot in the AG Circuit Playoffs, where the qualifiers will duke it out to determine who the best AG player is! The 2020 AG Circuit will consist of the following tournaments:
  • AG Seasonals (Winter, Spring, Fall) - BFL of 2
  • AG Ladder Tournament​
  • AG Grand Prix (Galar Dex Cup, USUM Cup, ORAS Cup)​

Circuit Tournament Schedule:
  • AG Winter Seasonal (Early January)​
  • AG Ladder Tournament (Early March)​
  • AG Spring Seasonal (Early April)​
  • AG Grand Prix (Mid May)​
    • Galar Dex Cup​
    • USUM Cup​
    • ORAS Cup​
  • AG Fall Seasonal (Mid August)​
  • AG Circuit Playoffs (Early December)​

Team Tournament Schedule:
  • AG Premier League (Late June)​

Tournament Payouts:


Players receive points equal to the round they were eliminated in. 1st place receives 3 bonus points, the runner-up receives one bonus point. Players eliminated round 2 or earlier receive no points.

Ladder Tournament:
1st: 15 Points
2nd: 12 Points
3rd-4th: 9 Points
5th-8th: 6 Points
9th-16th: 3 Points
17th-32nd: 1 Point

Grand Prix:
1st: 10 Points
2nd: 8 Points
3rd-4th: 5 Points
5th-8th: 3 Points
9th-16th: 1 Point

Tournament Details

AG Seasonals:

Seasonals are best of three double elimination tournaments that will run 3 times throughout the course of the circuit. The matchups for a Seasonal are generated randomly when each round goes up, there is no seeding involved. For the 2020 circuit Seasonals will have a BFL (Best Finish Limit) of 2: that means that only your 2 best seasonal placements will count towards you overall point total.

AG Ladder Tournament:
This tournament is divided into two main components: a 4-week qualifying phase and a playoffs phase. For the qualifying phase, players will ladder on designated alts and try to reach the highest Elo score possible by the end of the week. The 8 players with the highest Elo will qualify for playoffs, and then players will start laddering again on fresh alts for the next week. Once all 4 qualifying weeks have concluded, the qualified players will be entered into a seeded best of three single elimination bracket that will progress until one player is crowned the winner.

AG Grand Prix:
This two-phase tournament will use previous AG rulesets in similar fashion to the Smogon Classic. The first phase of Grand Prix consists of three individual tournaments: the Galar Dex cup, the USUM cup, and the ORAS cup. Each of these tournaments will be best of three single elimination with randomly generated matchups for each round. Players who advance in these tournaments will earn points towards the Grand Prix playoffs - the top 16 players with the most points at the end of all 3 tournaments will be entered into a seeded single elimination bracket to determine the winner. The playoffs format will be a best of three of all three formats, so players must excel in multiple formats to come out on top! The individual cup tournaments do not give points towards the Circuit Playoffs.

AG Premier League:
A team tournament where managers will draft players in an auction to assemble their team, after which all the teams will face off in a round robin. Once all the teams have played one another, the top team will advance to finals, while the second and third placing teams will face off for a chance to make it to finals as well. The tiers played and the number of teams will be determined closer to the date of the tournament.

AG Circuit Playoffs:
At the end of the year, the top 16 players with the most Circuit Points will face off a seeded single elimination tournament to determine who the best AG player is! The playoffs will be a best of three in the current National Dex format.

The schedule and payouts for the circuit are subject to change until the signups for the first seasonal go up. Use this thread to discuss or give feedback!​
Last edited:


are you bored yet?
is a Forum Moderatoris a Community Contributor Alumnusis a Battle Simulator Staff Alumnus
:sm/xerneas: National Dex Anything Goes Tournament Index :sm/yveltal:
Anything Goes Ladder Tournament
Won by: Ktütverde

- Week 1
- Week 2
- Week 3
- Week 4
- Playoffs

Anything Goes Grand Prix
Won by: Pigeons

- Round 1
- Round 2
- Semifinals
- Finals

Won by: pichus

Won by: Skarph

Galar Dex Cup
Won by: l'habitat
Anything Goes Premier League
Won by: Salt Mining Sableyes

- Week 1
- Week 2
- Week 3
- Week 4
- Week 5
- Semifinals
- Finals

Circuit Leaderboard
Last edited:


are you bored yet?
is a Forum Moderatoris a Community Contributor Alumnusis a Battle Simulator Staff Alumnus
quick announcement:

Post DLC2 Pokemons and moves additions will not be allowed in the 2020 Circuit Playoffs.

This means you can't use Calyrex and other new pokemons. You also cannot use Fire Spin Ho-Oh, Heat Crash Primal Groudon, etc. since they did not learn these moves before DLC2 dropped. Playoffs are locked into the pre DLC2 metagame. Fail to follow this guideline and you will automatically lose the game, no exceptions.

tagging all relevant users:

Good luck everyone!
Not open for further replies.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 1, Guests: 0)